#63092: "Discarding to Minerva doesn't draw additional cards when you above hand limit"
O čom je toto hlásenie?
Čo sa stalo? Prosím vyber z nasledujúcich
Čo sa stalo? Prosím vyber z nasledujúcich
Prosím skontroluj, či už existuje hlásenie na rovnakú tému
Ak je to tak, prosím HLASUJTE za toto hlásenie. Hlásenia s najviac hlasmi majú PRIORITU!
| # | Status | Votes | Game | Type | Title | Last update |
|---|
Podrobný popis
-
• Prosím skopíruj a vlož chybové hlásenie, ktoré si videl na obrazovke, ak sa nejaké vyskytlo.
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" -
• Prosím vysvetli, čo si chcel/a spraviť, čo si spravil/a a čo sa stalo
Move 35.
• Aký prehliadač používaš?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Skopíruj/vlož text zobrazený v angličtine namiesto tvojho jazyka. Ak máš screenshot (dobrý zvyk), môžeš použiť Imgur.com na jeho nahranie a skopírovať sem odkaz na neho.
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" -
• Je tento text dostupný v prekladovom systéme? Ak áno, bol preložený po dlhšie ako 24 hodín?
Move 35.
• Aký prehliadač používaš?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Prosím presne a stručne vysvetli svoj podnet, aby bolo čo najjednoduchšie pochopiť, ako to myslíš.
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" • Aký prehliadač používaš?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Čo sa objavilo na obrazovke, keď si bol zablokovaný (Prázdna obrazovka? Časť herného rozhrania? Chybové hlásenie?)?
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" • Aký prehliadač používaš?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Ktorá časť pravidiel nebola dodržaná v BGA adaptácii?
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" -
• Je možné vidieť porušenie pravidiel na zázname z hry? Ak áno, aké je číslo ťahu?
Move 35.
• Aký prehliadač používaš?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Aký herný ťah si chcel urobiť?
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" -
• Čo si skúsil aby si vyvolal túto akciu?
Move 35.
-
• Čo sa stalo keď si spravil túto hernú akciu (chybové hlásenie, hlásenie v stavovom pruhu, ...)?
• Aký prehliadač používaš?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Kedy v priebehu hry sa problém vyskytol (aká bola prebiehajúca herná inštrukcia)?
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" -
• Čo sa stalo keď si spravil túto hernú akciu (chybové hlásenie, hlásenie v stavovom pruhu, ...)?
Move 35.
• Aký prehliadač používaš?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Prosím popíš viditeľný problém. Ak máš screenshot (dobrý zvyk), môžeš použiť Imgur.com na jeho nahranie a skopírovať sem odkaz na neho.
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" • Aký prehliadač používaš?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Skopíruj/vlož text zobrazený v angličtine namiesto tvojho jazyka. Ak máš screenshot (dobrý zvyk), môžeš použiť Imgur.com na jeho nahranie a skopírovať sem odkaz na neho.
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" -
• Je tento text dostupný v prekladovom systéme? Ak áno, bol preložený po dlhšie ako 24 hodín?
Move 35.
• Aký prehliadač používaš?
Google Chrome v98
-
• Prosím presne a stručne vysvetli svoj podnet, aby bolo čo najjednoduchšie pochopiť, ako to myslíš.
I have 7 cards in hand. I discard one yellow card as an offering to Minerva.
I should draw 1 card (0 because I am at/above hand limit + 1 for each card discarded (in this case 1))
I didn't draw any cards. If I understand the logs correctly, game treats discarding to Minerva as increased hand limit, which does not produce correct result in this case.
Quote from the english rules:
"Draw cards from the deck in order to replenish your hand
to 5 cards. If you invoked Minerva (yellow/scientific),
draw one more card per card you discarded in Step 3
above" • Aký prehliadač používaš?
Google Chrome v98
História hlásenia
Thanks for raising this. You've made me realise that there is a rules ambiguity here, that I've never even thought about while both playing the game or while implementing it on BGA.
I've always taken the rule to be, with Minerva, instead of drawing up to 5, you draw up to 5+N, where N is the number of cards discarded. So in this case, discarding one card from a hand of 7, you would draw up to 6, which means not drawing at all as you had 6 cards in hand still.
But looking into it now, I do see your point of view - the rules seem to say you draw "up to 5" (meaning again drawing nothing), and THEN draw extra cards. I've never appreciated that there was any difference but there clearly is in this case.
It wouldn't be any problem for me to fix the code to do what you are suggesting - but I'm really not sure what the correct procedure is. I've just looked through rules threads on BGG, specifically about how the Minerva discard works, but can't even find this question clearly stated, let alone answered by the designer!
So I'm going to have to research how this is supposed to work. In the meantime, and before I pose a question on BGG - if you already know of any definitive ruling on this, please let me know!
If not, I'll update this either way once I have an answer. Thanks again.
I tried even looking at French rules - I suppose they are original. The google translate of that sentence is "Draw until you have 5 cards in hand. If you have summoned Minerva (science/yellow), draw a card more per discarded card."
Which doesn't add much clarity (and I don't know how well google translate works for fine details)
I asked on BGG a few days ago. I haven't had an "official" reply yet (ie from designer or publisher), and doubt I now will - however everyone who replied has said they agree with your interpretation. Which on balance I think I do too, from rereading the rules when you brought up this issue. So I will mark this as "confirmed", and start fixing it. It shouldn't be too complex to do but I'll have to test quite a few scenarios with Minerva to make sure I haven't unexpectedly broken anything, so all I can promise is it should be done in the next few days. (It's possible I finish it tonight but I don't really expect that, I'd rather be slower and get it right than quick and cause an issue.)
I'll update when it's deployed, both on here and also in an announcement to the player group explaining my rules misunderstanding and how it works (properly) after the fix, in case any are confused by the change in behaviour.
Thanks again
Pridať niečo k tomuto hláseniu
- Iné ID stola / ID ťahu
- Vyriešil sa problém pomocou F5?
- Objavil sa problém viackrát? Zakaždým? Náhodne?
- Ak máš screenshot (dobrý zvyk), môžeš použiť Imgur.com na jeho nahranie a skopírovať sem odkaz na neho.
